How to Grant User Access In Google Analytics

One of the tools we use regularly to monitor website performance is Google Analytics. We can measure the success of your website and capture visitor information for marketing and advertising. We can even track the path from entry to your checkout page. It’s useful, it’s easy to install, and it’s very informative.

How to Grant User Access In Google Analytics

When Google Analytics is installed on a site, the owner of the account is the only person that has access to the data. If you want someone else to have access to your website’s data (for example, if you wanted someone to provide detailed website performance analysis), DO NOT EMAIL THEM YOUR USERNAME AND PASSWORD. Shared accounts are common but in this case (as is often the case), completely unnecessary. You can add other people to the account and share the data with them.

At Lieberman Technologies, we try to have our customers set up the account under their own name so that they are the true owners of the account, and then add us as their vendor for viewing rights.

How to Get Started with Google AnalyticsSign Up for Google Analytics

Step 1.
First visit www.google.com/analytics/ and in the top right corner you’ll see the words “Sign In”

You’ll have to sign in with a Google Account, but that doesn’t mean it needs to be gmail. You should set it up with your company email address and not your personal Gmail.

Step 2.
Click the “Start Using” button over on the right, and fill in the form with the information about your website. You’ll need to know the URL (ie. https://www.LTnow.com) and your time zone. The rest you can make up as you fill out the form. When you get to the bottom, check all of the checkboxes if they aren’t checked, and press the “Get Tracking ID” button and then agree to all of the agreements that Google offers you.

How to Add A User in Google Analytics

 

Step 1.
Visit the Admin panel in your Google Analytics Dashboard

GAstep1

Step 2.
Click on the “User Management” button under one of these three columns. There are three levels of access: Account, Property, and View. If you are working with us, it is best to choose the Account level of user access. 

  • Account level: users can add other users, add additional websites to your account handle, and link AdWords and AdSense data to the account.
  • Property level: users can access the tracking code, adjust retargeting data, and adjust settings on one single website. 
  • View level: users can add and view goals and content groupings. This is good for the people at work that want to see how the website is doing, but don’t need to edit any settings.

Google Analytics Share User Access

 

Step 3.
Add permissions for the user you are adding. You’ll need to know their email address. Make sure you have the right address and double-check for typos before you add them.

In the box next to where you entered the email address, select the actions you are granting the user. Note that “Manage Users” will only apply to the level of access you are granting and under. Someone with Property permissions will be able to edit property and view permissions, but not account permissions. Edit permissions allow a user to make changes to the settings you are giving access to, while collaboration permissions allow the user to see the shared assets of other users.

If you are letting Lieberman Technologies monitor and maintain your website, click all of these boxes. In a month, when your whole staff hears about how great Google Analytics results are, you can have us add them all as viewers instead of needing to go back in and do it yourself.

 

GAstep4

Step 4.
(OPTIONAL) Click the checkbox to send an email to the user notifying that he or she has been given access.

Step 5.
Click Add. That’s it!

You have now shared access to your Google Analytics account. If you are sharing it with a digital marketing vendor, they will now insert the code onto your page and begin tracking on your website. As your staff changes, or your vendors change, you can simply go back in and remove someone from the User Management area. You want to avoid deleting your Google Analytics account, even as you switch from one web host to another or redesign your site. Sharing your account access instead of your username/password builds in redundancy and security that will ensure long-term success to the overall health and maintenance of your website.

  • Charles Martel

    How do other users sign in? What are the mechanics? Do they go to GA, and enter my account name first? Do they enter their own?

    • ltnow

      When they go to https://analytics.google.com/analytics/web/ they will have to log in with their Google account. That can either be a Gmail, Google Apps, or other email address that they have setup to be a Google account. Once they login they will be able to see what you shared with them.

      If you click the “Notify this user by email” checkbox (see the image right above Step 4) they will get an email with the necessary info and the link. That way is much easier.